jump to navigation

How many hats does an artist need to wear? March 2, 2010

Posted by Deb Kosiba in Business.
trackback

I had a busy weekend digging through emails, tweets, and comments on DeviantArt/LiveJournal/Facebook.  Sadly, this meant no new projects and no new thoughts on the process of art making.

But I did run across a great series of articles about the different roles an artist needs to take on to successfully run an artistic business. They are by M.C.A. Hogarth who somehow finds time to be both a successful artist and author.

The first article clearly defines the three roles an artist must take on to be in business as an artist; The Business Manager, The Marketer, and The Artist.

The second article explains the distinction between the piece of art and the products that can be made from that art.  It also discusses ways to motivate the artist in you to create new work.

The third article discusses how to find a business model that works best for you and how to work out how much time you need to dedicate to each of the three roles.

While the articles are not specifically aimed at 3D artists, or even SF&F artists, there is so much good information I felt I needed to share them here.  If you have an article about the business of being an artist, I’d like to know about it!

Comments»

1. Luci - March 3, 2010

Pan directed me to your blog and I’m glad he did. We may have met at cons (I did bellydance room parties?) I’ll go off and read those articles – thanks!

Deb Kosiba - March 7, 2010

And now that I found your blog, I’m going to have to spend some time reading that too!


Leave a Reply

